ALL ABOUT MY “KALUNAY” (KULITIS) COOKING!

KALUNAY—for instance, is being used for bowel and kidney ailments, including snake bites. On the nutritional value of indigenous vegetables, the study shows that these contain varying amounts of protein, ash, fiber, carbohydrates, vitamins and minerals.

Kalunay, is usually used, or cook as a veggie along with other vegetables on a Philippine (ilokano recipe) called denengdeng where vege’s are mixed together.

But kalunay also can be used as a herbal remedy for kidney and other health problems.
According to the study recently, results revealed that there are 49 indigenous vegetables. These species include, two varieties of “kalunay” Amaranthus blitum L and Amaranthus gracilis Desf.
Aside from being utilized as food, some species have medicinal values.

Kalunay for instance, is being used for bowel and kidney ailments, including snake bites. On the nutritional value of indigenous vegetables, the study shows that these contain varying amounts of protein, ash, fiber, carbohydrates, vitamins and minerals.

 

KALUNAY WITH SHRIPMS

This was my lunch yesterday. Since last weekend I had been eating lots of meat. So I decided to cook kalunay (kulitis) with shrimps. Trying to incorporate more vegetables in my diet as I use to be.

It’s too simple, I just sauteed onion and shrimps in a very little ammount of vegetable oil, seasoned with anchovy sauce, added a little bit of water to cook kalunay and that’s it. For those who doesn’t use to anchovy sauce, you can use salt or fish sauce instead!

 

KALUNAY DINENGDENG

YOU NEED…….

* about 300 g fried horse mackerel
* 1 kg Kalunay
* 3 tbsps. Anchovy sauce
* 2 pcs. tomatoes diced
* 1 red onion diced
* about a cup of water

HOW TO…….

3 thoughts on “ALL ABOUT MY “KALUNAY” (KULITIS) COOKING!

  1. I have been trying to only feed myself and to also encourage my family to eat organically grown edible plants. I came across kulitis and amazed at how nutrient-packed it is, I browsed the internet. I am so happy to have learned more about it. Thank you for sharing about this wonderful plant, too. I hope to cook my first kitis recipe the soonest I can find the plant in my place. God bless.

    1. Hi Rosette, thank you so much for dropping by and leaving some lines here. We love “Kalunay” very much, because my late tatay and my hubby are both Ilocanos and this is one of remarkable leaves usually cooked along with other vegetables on an Ilokano recipe…which Ilocanos used to eat!

Leave a Reply

